The withholding tax is an income tax “withheld” from the earning of employees which is then paid directly to the Department.


Additionally, withholding tax is charged on benefits obtained from pension funds and insurance policies. 10% Withholding tax should be deducted on any cash benefits to members who have withdrawn from an approved pension fund or an insurance policy that is less than ten (10) years old.


Withholding tax is also levied on certain payments of an income nature – e.g. royalties, management charges, commissions, fees – at a rate of 10% to local residents; 15% to regional residents belonging to CARICOM states; and, 25% to non-residents.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Twitter
Ⓒ2013 Inland Revenue Department, Government of Saint Lucia.